Achievements

1999 

First Circus Arts General Assembly, initiated by En Piste.

En Piste, Cirque du Soleil and the National Circus School jointly propose the idea of a circus arts district, which becomes, in 2004, TOHU: la Cité des arts du cirque

2001 

En Piste scores its first major victory when the Conseil des arts et des lettres du Québec acknowledges the circus arts as an official art form.

2003 

Emploi-Québec and the Conseil québécois des ressources humaines en culture (QCRHC) acknowledge En Piste. The network is allowed to provide continuing professional education to its members.

2004 

Creation of the TOHU.

2007 

Second Circus Arts General Assembly. another initiative of En Piste. For the first time, officials are involved in the discussions and open the dialogue.

2008

Recognition of circus arts by the Arts Council of Montreal. Montreal, February 1, 2008 - The Mayor of Montreal, Gérald Tremblay, and the Chairman of the Conseil des arts de Montreal, Louise Roy, announced that the Arts Council will now support the creation, production and dissemination circus arts in the territory of the island of Montreal.

The Chair of the Conseil des arts de Montreal, Louise Roy said:

    
"(...) Our direct action in the development of arts and culture contributes significantly to the growth and reputation of Montreal as a cultural metropolis. » Source: ARTS COUNCIL OF MONTREAL.

Publication of an essay: L'état des lieux -  Les arts du cirque au Québec et au Canada - éclairage sur un paradoxe. (Circus Arts in Quebec and Canada: Inventory. Lighting a Paradox). This paper draws interesting conclusions on the strengths but also the weaknesses of the field, putting the Cirque du Soleil in a separate category.

En Piste participates actively as a member in the COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE committee, which is formed of leaders of the discipline who work in major development projects.

2009 

Publication of a repertory of the circus spaces in Montreal: Espaces Cirque à Montréal (57 pages). The guide, scalable and produced with the financial support of the Arts Council of Montreal, takes a picture of where it is possible to practice and present circus numbers and performances in Montreal neighborhoods and sub-categories are clearly identified.

En Piste participates in the creation of the MONTRÉAL COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE (MCC) Festival. The media will also state their surprise at the wide and transparent collaboration of Montreal circus artists and corporations, made possible by the mediation of En Piste.

Excerpt from LA PRESSE, June 4, 2009:

   
«For its part, the national circus arts network, En Piste , will lead in the coming months a study on the economic impact of the event. The organization, which includes all the Quebec circus environment, will also cover the development of the festival. The discipline of the circus is in a new stage of development in Montreal, says the director, Suzanne Samson. Everything happens at the right time.»

Another great victory : The Canada Council for the Arts acknowledges circus arts.

November 3, 2009 - Opinion of the Arts Council of Canada:

    «
The contemporary circus arts. The Canada Arts Council recognizes contemporary circus arts as a distinct art form. Artists and professional organizations who practice this form of art can apply for financial support through grant programs offered by the Inter-Arts Office of the Council. (...)»

From LE DEVOIR, 10 November 2009:

     «
[...]  En Piste welcomes this decision, which is the culmination of many steps taken by The national circus arts network, to meet the specific needs of the circus.»

   
«It will be easier for artists to get grants and it will facilitate the exchange and dissemination across the country. It occurs when there are major projects in development. There was a recognition problem here, even if our artists are recognized around the world. This is a decision that will brig a lot of good, argued Suzanne Samson, CEO of En Piste.»

Excerpt from LA PRESSE, Nov. 10, 2009:

   
«Now, requests for scholarships and grants circus artists will be evaluated by their peers. For the CEO of En Piste, Suzanne Samson, this decision is timely: The industry is working on major projects for development of a new discipline with the International Festival of Circus Arts, sectoral studies and plans action. »

2010 

The National Forum holds its first real encounter coast to coast.

En Piste contributes to the first edition of the FESTIVAL MONTREAL COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE.

2011 

En Piste publishes a Quebec sectorial diagnosis for the circus arts.

Unveiling of a new logo and redesigned website. This now allows more interactivity and reduces the display time, offering services including online support research and wide dissemination, a bulletin board accessible to both members as well as the direction and a profile of the individual members. The site attracts an average of 2,400 visits per month since its launch, with an average of 9700 page views (4.4 pages per visit).

First international meeting of the working committee "Planète cirque", which brings together 6 Contemporary Circus organizations from Belgium, Argentina, Scandinavia, Australia and Spain, covering topics as diverse as training, artists career transition and safety. The meeting will now take place annually as part of FESTIVAL MONTREAL COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE .

Excerpt from LA PRESSE, July 22, 2011:

    
«There are many issues that we want to address, says Suzanne Samson. The idea is to create a community of work and exchange information, and why not a common database with all the circus that occur around the world? »

2012 

Winner in its discipline, En Piste is finalist for the Grand Prize of the Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Implementation of a collective insurance program for all member companies of En Piste. It is with the help of an advisor to the brokerage firm Vézina and associates that The national circus arts network has developed this new service, which aims to provide a flexible insurance plan for companies and organizations members of En Piste. It will focus on employees of Canadian companies that adhere to the program.

En Piste publishes the organizational diagnosis of the Network.

En Piste publishes a study on the needs for continuing education.

En Piste publishes the sectorial and organizational strategic plan.

Organizes in the heart of Forum 2012, (under the 2012 theme : Panorama 3 - 2010/2020 - Expanded Landscapes) the first meeting of the Committee for Regional Development, a committee which will make recommendations on regional development. The result of this work will be included in the En Piste development plan  and action plan for 2013-2017. En Piste offer its members outside of Montreal and Quebec strategies to promote the development of the discipline across the province and increase the capacity of collaboration among members in directing its efforts towards a dynamic cooperation.

Actively participates in the third annual FESTIVAL MONTRÉAL COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE, including providing customized training to companies selected for presentations of the 2nd edition of Quebec Showcase presented again, this year, to more than forty national broadcasters and international. This training, designed specifically for companies selected for the event, has allowed Quebec companies to improve their skills in sales presentations. The 2012 edition of La Vitrine Quebec has led to several new companies to sign for national and international tours for 2013-2014.

Participates in The state of circus research in Quebec, a conference organized by a research group at Concordia University and the National Circus School of Montreal, also involving researchers from canadian and foreign universities. Joanie Leroux-Côté, board member, leads a discussion on the reality of being young circus practitioners of Quebec, both here and abroad.

 


En Piste was there...

 

In France in 2008

Paris, Lyon, Lille

En Piste organizing a mission with canadian government officials, to promote better collaboration and better understanding of what is and what could be the circus in the Canadian landscape, Quebec or Montreal. The mission in France has led to a continuous open dialogue about our challenges and our development.

 

In Spain in 2008

Barcelone

In the context of a Quebec-Catalonia agreements, En Piste goes to Barcelona to meet her vis-à-vis the Catalan Association, AIA. These meetings were held as part a collaborative program between Barcelona and Montreal in associational life, training and social circus. Several initiatives have emerged from these exchanges.

 

In Spain in 2009

Barcelone  - Tarrega

En Piste organizing a mission to Fira Tarrega in Catalonia. Representatives of the National Circus School, of TOHU, 7 Fingers, Cirque du Soleil, En Piste and members of the RAR are invited by the Government of Quebec and the festival to participate to Tarrega roundtable, on the development of circus and street arts, in the presence of the Minister of International Relations and Francophone Quebec, Pierre Arcand.

 

In France in 2009

Auch

Committed to give to its members a quality continuing education, En Piste went to Circa Festival in Auch. This appointment is now a must for all training centers in contemporary circus. This mission was meant to better understand the evolution of the training, its structures, its orientations; anticipate the needs of graduates and professionals on the labor market and ensure to keep a watchful eye on the integration of a multidisciplinary circus arts.

 

In Monaco in 2010

Monte-Carlo

La directrice d'En Piste se rend à Monaco pour participer à un conseil d'administration de la Fédération Mondiale de cirque, qui se tient toujours dans le cadre du Festival de cirque de Monte- Carlo. En plus de participer à ces évènements, la directrice est appelée à travailler sur la reconnaissance des arts du cirque par L'UNESCO, en compagnie des membres du conseil d'administration et de sa présidente, SAS, Stéphanie de Monaco. En Piste est un des membres fondateurs de cette fédération.

En Piste CEO goes to Monaco to participate in a Board of Directors of the Circus World Federation, which still stands in the Circus Festival of Monte-Carlo. In addition to participating in these events, the manager is required to work on the recognition of circus arts by UNESCO, along with members of the Board and its President, SAS, Princess Stephanie of Monaco. En Piste is a founding member of the federation.

 

In Argentine in 2010

Buenos Aires

En Piste organizing a mission to Buenos Aires. Representatives of the National Circus School, of TOHU, 7 Fingers, Cirque du Soleil and En Piste are invited by the Polo Circo circus festival in Buenos Aires, to participate in a table discussion on the development of circus arts and its impact regionally or nationally.

 

In Belgium in 2012

Brussels

En Piste participates in Quebec Showcase in Brussels, during the celebration of 40 years of Quebec in Belgium.

 

In France in 2012


Paris

En Piste participating in Fresh Circus. Organized by Circostrada, Fresh Circus seminar is the second work on the structuring of circus arts in Europe, where 80 circus representatives present 21 countries. In addition to providing an overview, the two-day workshops aim to formulate a series of recommendations addressed to regional institutions, national and EU to better take into account the specificities of the contemporary circus creation.


 
In Mexico in 2012


Guadalajara


En Piste organizing a mission to Guadalajara. Representatives of the National Circus School, the TOHU and 7 Fingers are invited by the Festival Cultural de Mayo 2012, Jalisco, to participate in a roundtable discussion on the development of circus arts and its regional impact or national level.

 

Photo credit: Marcus Urban / 7 doigts de la main

Réalisations

1999 

Premiers États généraux des arts du cirque à l’initiative d’En Piste.

En Piste, le Cirque du Soleil et l’École nationale de cirque travaillent à un projet de Cité des arts du cirque qui deviendra, en 2004, LA TOHU.

2001 

Une première victoire pour l’organisme et ses membres : le Conseil des arts et lettres du Québec (CALQ) reconnaît les arts du cirque comme un art à part entière.

2003 

Reconnu par Emploi Québec et le CQRHC, En Piste devient apte à offrir de la formation professionnelle continue à ses membres.

2004 

LA TOHU est créée.

2007 

Tenue des seconds États généraux des arts du cirque. Pour la première fois, des fonctionnaires prennent part aux discussions, permettant ainsi d’extérioriser le dialogue.

2008

Reconnaissance des arts du cirque par le Conseil des arts de Montréal. Montréal, le 1er février 2008 – Le Maire de Montréal, M. Gérald Tremblay, et la présidente du Conseil des arts de Montréal, Mme Louise Roy, annoncent que le Conseil des arts apportera désormais son soutien à la création, la production et la diffusion des arts du cirque sur le territoire de l'île de Montréal.

La présidente du Conseil des arts de Montréal, Mme Louise Roy déclare :

« (…) Notre action directe dans le développement des arts et de la culture contribue nettement à la croissance et au rayonnement de Montréal comme métropole culturelle. » Source : CONSEIL DES ARTS DE MONTRÉAL.

Production d’une étude : L'état des lieu du cirque (31 pages). Ce document tire des conclusions intéressantes sur les forces, mais aussi les faiblesses du milieu en gardant le Cirque du Soleil dans une catégorie à part dans le bilan des conditions actuelles.

Participation active à titre de membre au comité « COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE » constitué de chefs de file de la discipline qui travaillent a des projets majeurs de développement des arts du cirque. Obtention, pour les producteurs cirque, de crédits d’impôts à la Sodec.

2009 

Présente un bilan des Espaces Cirque à Montréal (57 pages). Le guide, évolutif et produit avec le soutien financier du Conseil des arts de Montréal, dresse le bilan des endroits où il est possible de pratiquer et présenter des numéros et spectacles de Cirque à Montréal par quartiers et sous-catégories bien identifiées.

Participe à la création du FESTIVAL MONTRÉAL COMPLÉTEMENT CIRQUE. Les médias feront d’ailleurs état de leur surprise face à une collaboration aussi large et transparente du milieu cirque montréalais, rendue possible notamment grâce à la médiation d’En Piste.

Extrait du journal LA PRESSE, 4 juin 2009 :

De son côté, le regroupement national des arts du cirque, En Piste, pilotera dans les prochains mois une étude sur les retombées économiques de l’événement. L’organisme, qui englobe tout le milieu cirque québécois, s’occupera également de la mise en valeur du festival. « La discipline du cirque en est à une nouvelle étape de développement à Montréal, note la directrice, Suzanne Samson. Tout arrive au bon moment. »

Une autre grande victoire : reconnaissance des arts du cirque par le Conseil des arts du Canada.

3 novembre 2009 - Avis du Conseil des arts du Canada :

Les arts du cirque contemporains. Le Conseil des Arts du Canada reconnaît les arts du cirque contemporains comme une forme d'art distincte. Les artistes et organismes artistiques professionnels qui pratiquent cette forme d'art peuvent présenter des demandes de soutien financier aux programmes de subventions offerts par le Bureau Inter-arts du Conseil des Arts. (…)

Extrait du journal LE DEVOIR, 10 novembre 2009 :

 […] le regroupement québécois des arts du cirque, En Piste, se félicite de cette décision, qui est l’aboutissement de longues démarches entreprises par le Regroupement national des arts du cirque pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques des artistes de cirque.

« Ça sera plus facile pour les artistes d’aller chercher des subventions et ça facilitera les échanges et la diffusion à travers les pays. Ça survient au moment où il y a des projets importants en développement. Il y avait un problème de reconnaissance ici, alors que nos artistes sont reconnus partout dans le monde. C’est une décision qui fait beaucoup de bien », a fait valoir Suzanne Samson, directrice générale d’En Piste.

Extrait du journal LA PRESSE, 10 novembre 2009 :

Dorénavant, les demandes de bourses et de subventions des artistes de cirque seront évaluées par leurs pairs. Pour la directrice générale d’En Piste, Suzanne Samson, cette décision tombe à point nommé : « Le secteur travaille au développement de projets majeurs visant un nouvel essor de la discipline avec le Festival international des arts du cirque, des études sectorielles et des plans d’action. »

2010 

Première édition du FESTIVAL MONTRÉAL COMPLÉTEMENT CIRQUE.

Le forum national tient sa première véritable rencontre pancanadienne.

2011 

Publication d’un diagnostic québécois sectoriel.

Dévoilement d’un nouveau logo et refonte du site web. Ce dernier permet maintenant plus d’interactivité et réduit les délais d’affichage, en offrant notamment des services en ligne, un support de recherche et de diffusion à large échelle, un babillard accessible autant aux membres qu’à la direction ainsi qu’un profil individuel des membres.  Le site attire une moyenne de 2400 visites par mois depuis son lancement, pour une moyenne de 9700 pages consultées (4,4 pages par visite).

Première rencontre internationale à Montréal de Planète Cirque, comité réunissant 6 directeurs d’associations de cirques contemporains qui abordent des sujets aussi variés que la formation continue, la transition de carrière des artistes et la sécurité au travail. La rencontre aura désormais lieu annuellement dans le cadre de Montréal Complètement Cirque.

Extrait du journal LA PRESSE, 22 juillet 2011 :

 « Il y a un grand nombre de sujets que nous voulons aborder, dit encore Suzanne Samson. L’idée est de créer une communauté de travail et d’échanges d’informations, et pourquoi pas une base de données commune avec tous les artistes de cirque qui se produisent partout dans le monde? »

2012 

En Piste figure parmi les 9 finalistes du 27e Grand Prix du Conseil des arts de Montréal.

Lance le 1er juillet 2012 le premier programme d’assurances collectives pour les organismes en art du cirque. C'est avec l’appui d’un conseiller de la firme de courtage Vézina et associés que le regroupement national des arts du cirque a développé ce nouveau service, qui vise à offrir un plan d'assurance souple pour les compagnies et organismes spécialisés en arts du cirque, membres d’En Piste.

Organise, au cœur du Forum 2012, (sous la thématique choisie pour 2012 : PANORAMA 3 – 2010 /  2020 - Paysages élargis) la première réunion du comité pour le développement régional, un comité qui fera des recommandations sur le développement régional. Le fruit de ce travail sera inclus dans le plan de développement d'En Piste et son plan d'action pour 2013-2017. En Piste offrira à ses membres hors de Montréal et de Québec des stratégies favorisant le développement de la discipline partout dans la province et accroîtra la capacité de collaboration entre les membres en orientant ses efforts vers une concertation dynamique.

Participe activement à la troisième édition du FESTIVAL MONTRÉAL COMPLÈTEMENT CIRQUE, notamment en offrant une formation sur mesure aux compagnies sélectionnées pour les présentations de la 2e édition de la Vitrine québécoise, présentée, à nouveau cette année, devant plus d’une quarantaine de diffuseurs nationaux et internationaux. Cette formation, spécialement conçue pour les compagnies sélectionnées pour l’évènement, a permis aux compagnies québécoises visées d’améliorer leurs compétences en présentations de vente. L’édition 2012 de La Vitrine québécoise a conduit à nouveau plusieurs compagnies à signer pour des tournées nationales et internationales pour 2013-2014.

Participe à L’état des lieux et des pratiques de la recherche circassienne au Québec, un colloque organisé par un groupe de recherche de l’université Concordia et de l'École nationale de cirque de Montréal, regroupant aussi des chercheurs de différentes universités canadiennes et étrangères. Joanie Leroux-Côté, membre du CA,  anime une discussion portant sur la réalité d’être de jeunes praticiens circassiens dans le milieu du cirque québécois, tant ici qu’à l’étranger.

 

 

En Piste y était…

 

En France en 2008

Paris, Lyon, Lille

En Piste organise une mission avec des représentants gouvernementaux d'ici, pour favoriser une meilleure collaboration et une meilleure compréhension de ce que sont, et de ce que pourraient être les arts du cirque dans le panorama canadien, québécois ou montréalais. La mission en France aura permis un dialogue ouvert et permanent sur nos enjeux et notre développement.

 

En Espagne en 2008

Barcelone

Dans le cadre d'une entente Québec-Catalogne, En Piste se rend à Barcelone pour y rencontrer ses vis-à-vis de l'association catalane, APCC. Ces rencontres avaient comme cadre un programme de collaboration, entre Barcelone et Montréal, en matière de vie associative, de formation et de cirque social. Plusieurs initiatives sont nées de ces échanges.

 

En Espagne en 2009

Barcelone  - Tarrega

En Piste organise une mission à la Fira Tarrega en Catalogne. Des représentants de l'École nationale de cirque, de la TOHU, des 7 Doigts de la main, du Cirque du Soleil et d'En Piste et des membres du RAR sont conviés par le gouvernement du Québec et par le festival de Tarrega à participer à une table ronde portant sur le développement des arts du cirque et de la rue, en présence du ministre des Relations internationales et de la Francophonie du Québec, Monsieur Pierre Arcand.

 

En France en 2009

Auch

Soucieux d'offrir à ces membres une formation continue de qualité, En Piste s'est rendu au Festival Circa de Auch (Festival de cirque actuel). Ce rendez-vous est maintenant un incontournable pour tous les centres de formation en cirque contemporain.  Cette mission a permis de mieux comprendre l'évolution de la formation, de ses structures, de ses orientations; de prévoir les besoins des finissants, de la relève et des professionnels sur le marché du travail et veille à garder un œil attentif sur l'intégration de la multidisciplinarité dans les arts du cirque.

 

À Monaco en 2010

Monte-Carlo

La directrice d'En Piste se rend à Monaco pour participer à un conseil d'administration de la Fédération Mondiale de cirque, qui se tient toujours dans le cadre du Festival de cirque de Monte- Carlo. En plus de participer à ces évènements, la directrice est appelée à travailler sur la reconnaissance des arts du cirque par L'UNESCO, en compagnie des membres du conseil d'administration et de sa présidente, SAS, Stéphanie de Monaco. En Piste est un des membres fondateurs de cette fédération.

 

En Argentine en 2010

Buenos Aires

En Piste organise une mission à Buenos Aires. Des représentants de l'École nationale de cirque, de la TOHU, des 7 Doigts de la main, du Cirque du Soleil, et d'En Piste sont conviés par le festival de cirque de Buenos Aires, Polo Circo, à participer à une table ronde portant sur le développement des arts du cirque et son impact régional ou national.

 

En Belgique en 2012

Bruxelles

En Piste participe à la Vitrine québécoise à Bruxelles, lors des célébrations des 40 ans de présence du Québec en Belgique.

 

En France en 2012

Paris

En Piste participe à Fresh Circus.  Organisé par Circostrada Network, Fresh Circus est le deuxième séminaire de travail sur la structuration des arts du cirque en Europe, où sont présents 80 représentants du cirque de 21 pays. En plus de dresser un état des lieux, les deux journées d’ateliers thématiques ont pour objectif de formuler une série de recommandations, adressées aux institutions régionales, nationales et communautaires, pour une meilleure prise en compte des spécificités de la création circassienne contemporaine.

 

Au Mexique en 2012

Guadalajara

En Piste organise une mission à Guadalajara. Des représentants de l'École nationale de cirque, de la TOHU et des 7 Doigts de la main sont conviés par le Festival cultural de Mayo 2012, Jalisco, pour participer à une table ronde portant sur le développement des arts du cirque et son impact régional ou national.

 

Crédit photo : Marcus Urban / 7 doigts de la main